Mexican Heritage Plaza

Last night, I had the great honor of attending San Jose’s Mexican Heritage Plaza for a guest appearance. The Mexican Heritage Plaza is a cultural center in the heart of East San Jose showcasing the Latino/Chicano culture through performances such as theater,singing and dancing. During my college years, my sorority Lambda Theta Nu Sorority, Inc., was heavily involved with the Plaza volunteering as ushers and guides for annual events so when I received an email from the director asking if I’d be able to attend upcoming shows, I was more than delighted to say yes. As soon as I arrived to the center, I was greeted by giddy elementary school girls who were in awe of meeting and taking pictures with a “beauty queen.” My parents, who also joined in the fun, offered to take behind the scenes photos* while I mingled with guests and promoted my title.

As I was speaking with guests and taking pictures, I had a feeling of such great fulfillment. Everyone who walked by and noticed my sash either complimented or congratulated me on my title. Having my family supporting me for such a small, local event meant so much to me because I could tell they too, were proud of my pageant accomplishments. Though I don’t know what my pageant life fate lies ahead of me, I’ve had an amazing time being involved with the community and a city I deeply adore.

*To see some photos of last night’s event, please visit my Photos page.

Love,
Kassie P.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. maria Elena De Guevara
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 18:50:41

    How nice! San Jose is fortunate to have you representing b their fine city

    Reply

Leave a Reply

